Woodville Parish Council

Welcome to Woodville – voted most uneventful village in Kent.
Definitely no witches here, we promise.

Welcome to the Woodville Village Parish Council ‘home page’

All you need to know about the strange events in the village of Woodville as chronicled by parish council secretary and local author of some little renown Mr Mark Stay.

You can buy his book The Crow Folk from all the finest purveyors of books, maps and stationery.

A recent videogram recorded by local author Mr Stay

Parish Notices

All the latest news and village gossip will be posted here.

Five Tips For Writing Around A Day Job

Five Tips For Writing Around A Day Job

Want to write a novel, but juggling a day job, commute and other such commitments? I’ve written novels and screenplays while shuttling back and forth to London, and here are five tips that helped me make the most of my limited time… https://youtu.be/voZFUf5IrZ4...

read more

I’ve Been Tweaking My Blurb

Blurbs are hard and I’ve been tweaking mine (ooh, Matron!)… https://youtu.be/5Nr8fuQiR_Y Transcript: Hello folks, Mark Stay here. I’m sure you’ll be delighted to learn, I’ve been tweaking my blurb. Ooh, Matron. What does that mean? Well, the blurb is the book...

read more
A Recipe for Jam Roly Poly

A Recipe for Jam Roly Poly

As you may know, at the start of my forthcoming book The Crow Folk our young heroine Faye Bright finds a book left to her by her late mother. In this book are spells, recipes, incantations… and a recipe for Jam Roly Poly (translation for non-British folk: Jam Roly...

read more

Become a member of the library to receive free books and pamphlets. Simply sign-up to our newsletter here if you wish to receive, amongst other things:

  • An excerpt of the first book in the series with a special and exclusive introduction from Araminta Cranberry (Miss), Head Librarian of the Woodville Village Library
  • Miss Burgess’ recipe for jam roly-poly (available now!)
  • Mrs Teach’s Séance (short story coming soon)

The Village Bookshop

Specialising in titles of local interest

The Crow Folk

The Witches of Woodville 1

As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny…

Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she’s found out why. She’s just stumbled across her late mother’s diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations… a witch’s notebook.

And Faye has inherited her mother’s abilities. 

Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum’s words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies, and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected.

Fall in love with the extraordinary world of Faye Bright – it’s Maisie Dobbs meets The Magicians

Other Books by Mr Stay

Local author Mr Stay has written other books, though we cannot vouch for the contents having heard reports of indecency and foul language.

The End of Magic

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.

Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she’s worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills.

Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, but dreams of an apocalypse are giving him massive anxiety attacks.

Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise to save the life of a young girl that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic’s ending. 

A stand alone fantasy novel for readers of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch

Praise for The End of Magic:

“The sort of book you give to people who say “prove to me why I should read fantasy”… A simply terrific read.”
James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series

“Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes.”
RJ Barker, author of the Wounded Kingdom Trilogy

“Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story… exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of.”
Gavin G. Smith, author of the Veteran series

“Stay does for George RR Martin what Pratchett did for Tolkien.”
Julian Barr, author of The Way Home

Back to Reality

The Bestselling ‘90s nostalgia time travel comedy

Jo’s world is about to change forever, and it’s about time

Her marriage is on auto-pilot, daughter hates her, job sucks and it’s not even Tuesday.

As Jo’s life implodes, a freak event hurls her back to ‘90s Los Angeles where, in a parallel universe, she’s about to hit the big time as a rock star.

Jo has to choose between her dreams and her family in an adventure that propels her from London to Hollywood then Glastonbury, the world’s greatest music festival.

Jo encounters a disgraced guru, a movie star with a fetish for double-decker buses, and the biggest pop star in the world… who just happens to want to kill her.

Back to Reality is a funny, heartwarming story about second chances, with a heroine to rival Bridget Jones and the rock n roll nostalgia of Keith A Pearson.

The novel from the Bestseller Experiment podcast presenters Mark Stay and Mark Desvaux. The Two Marks went to more gigs in the ’90s than in any other decade and are currently working on a time machine to see Prince in concert.

Praise for Back to Reality:

“Like if Nick Hornby wrote a time travel, body swap adventure!”
New York Times bestselling author Mimi Strong

“A compelling story where the comedy compliments the drama and keeps you turning the page… A delight.”
Caimh McDonnell, Bestselling author of The Dublin Trilogy

“Doctor Who meets Freaky Friday at Glastonbury. With added cow. Escapist SF fun for everyone who wants to scratch their Terry Pratchett itch.”
Ian W Sainsbury, Winner of the Kindle Storyteller Award 2019

“A miraculous, laugh-out-loud journey to a past never lived. Original and captivating!”
Keith A Pearson

Robot Overlords

Stay in your homes. You are under quarantine.

Three years ago, Earth was conquered by a force of robots from a distant world. This was their one rule.

Ignore the order to self-isolate and you’re sure to be vaporised by a massive robot Sentry, or a crawling Sniper, or a flying Drone. That’s if the vast Cube doesn’t incinerate you first.

But Sean Flynn is convinced that his father – an RAF pilot who fought in the war – is still alive. And when he and his gang figure out a way to break the robots’ curfew, they begin an adventure that will pit them against the might of the ROBOT OVERLORDS.

This fast-paced, thrilling novelisation is based on the hit British film starring Sir Ben Kingsley (IRON MAN THREE), Gillian Anderson (THE X-FILES) and Callan McAuliffe (THE GREAT GATSBY). A perfect companion to the movie, it expands on the story with additional action, characters, and a special peek behind the scenes.

This is the perfect book to let your mind escape these days of self isolation.

Praise for Robot Overlords:

“Fun, entertaining read with snappy, realistic dialogue…. a blockbuster pace that will entertain early teens upwards and sci-fi fans alike.”
Following the Nerd

“Robot Overlords is an easy read, but it’s not a light tale. Deliciously scary in all the right places, it’s a compelling book. Like all good novelisations, it adds an extra dimension to a story already told in another medium. Recommended, especially if you like giant robot-driven dystopias.”
Starburst

“Enjoyable, entertaining, and sometimes surprisingly dark, Robot Overlords is a great read whether you’re a young adult, a young-at-heart adult, or even a miserable old man in an adult’s body (like me!).”
The Cult Den

“Such a cracking story – one which might literally blow your socks off.”
The Book Plank

“His characters come to life instantly, practically jumping off the page, all you need to know to care about them sketched in a few simple but always well-chosen words.”
Crime Review

Correspond with the author

(and more for the Curious)

Contact Mr Stay with your praise, complaints and general queries here.

Mr Stay has a blog here.

You can find him on social media:

He can also be heard inspiring writers with Mark Desvaux on The Bestseller Experiment podcast.